Select World's Most Ethical Companies from the menu bar near the top of the screen to view the Ethisphere Institute's twelfth annual list, published in 2018. The list includes 135 companies from 23 countries and 57 industries. Read this article by Will Evans in a 2010 issue of Slate, for a more critical look at this institute and listing.
Fortune's the 100 Best Companies to Work For List has been published regularly since 2002.
In 2017, Fortune issued the following related lists:
In September 2017, Fortune issued the third annual Change the World List.
"Business Ethics is an online magazine with a strong heritage in the fields of ethics, governance, corporate responsibility and socially responsible investing."
"An independent nonprofit dedicated to building an economy that works for all Americans by measuring and improving corporate stakeholder performance at America’s largest public companies."
View ratings for specific companies or filter the database to view ratings for companies from different countries, regions, broad industries, etc. CSR Hub combines data from nine socially responsible investment analysis firms and over 265 other sources. Users can view CSR Hub's overall scores for specific companies for free. Overall scores generally range between 25 and 75. Each company's overall score comes from weighted averages of CSRHubs scores evaluating the company's impact and activities in four different categories: environment, employees, communities, and corporate governance. You need to pay for a subscription in order to view each company's category ratings and more detailed information.
Virtue Hoarders by
A denunciation of the credentialed elite class that serves capitalism while insisting on its own progressive heroism Professional Managerial Class (PMC) elite workers labor in a world of performative identity and virtue signaling, publicizing an ability to do ordinary things in fundamentally superior ways. Author Catherine Liu shows how the PMC stands in the way of social justice and economic redistribution by promoting meritocracy, philanthropy, and other self-serving operations to abet an individualist path to a better world. Virtue Hoarders is an unapologetically polemical call to reject making a virtue out of taste and consumption habits. Forerunners: Ideas First is a thought-in-process series of breakthrough digital publications. Written between fresh ideas and finished books, Forerunners draws on scholarly work initiated in notable blogs, social media, conference plenaries, journal articles, and the synergy of academic exchange. This is gray literature publishing: where intense thinking, change, and speculation take place in scholarship.
Giving Voice to Values: An Innovation and Impact Agenda by
Giving Voice to Values, under the leadership of Mary Gentile, has fundamentally changed the way business ethics and values-driven leadership is taught and discussed in academic and corporate settings worldwide. This book shifts attention to the future of Giving Voice to Values (GVV) and provides thought-pieces from practitioners and leading experts in business ethics and the professions on the possibilities for sustaining its growth and success. These include the creation of new teaching materials, reaching different audiences, and expanding the ways in which Giving Voice to Values is making a difference in classrooms and the workplace and acting as a catalyst for organizational and societal change. The book closes with a reflective chapter by Mary Gentile, looking back at where GVV has been and looking ahead to where GVV might go.
The Heart of Business by
A Wall Street Journal Bestseller Named a Financial Times top title How to unleash "human magic" and achieve improbable results. Hubert Joly, former CEO of Best Buy and orchestrator of the retailer's spectacular turnaround, unveils his personal playbook for achieving extraordinary outcomes by putting people and purpose at the heart of business. Back in 2012, "Everyone thought we were going to die," says Joly. Eight years later, Best Buy was transformed as Joly and his team rebuilt the company into one of the nation's favorite employers, vastly increased customer satisfaction, and dramatically grew Best Buy's stock price. Joly and his team also succeeded in making Best Buy a leader in sustainability and innovation. In The Heart of Business, Joly shares the philosophy behind the resurgence of Best Buy: pursue a noble purpose, put people at the center of the business, create an environment where every employee can blossom, and treat profit as an outcome, not the goal. This approach is easy to understand, but putting it into practice is not so easy. It requires radically rethinking how we view work, how we define companies, how we motivate, and how we lead. In this book Joly shares memorable stories, lessons, and practical advice, all drawn from his own personal transformation from a hard-charging McKinsey consultant to a leader who believes in human magic. The Heart of Business is a timely guide for leaders ready to abandon old paradigms and lead with purpose and humanity. It shows how we can reinvent capitalism so that it contributes to a sustainable future.
Humanizing Business by
This book is about humanizing business. In contrast to the mainstream modern management and leadership literature, this book provides distinctly humane perspectives on business. The volume travels outside the world of business to explore what Humanities - such as Philosophy, History, Literature, Creative Arts, and Cultural Studies - can offer to business. Renowned scholars from different Humanities disciplines, as well as management researchers exploring the heritage of Humanities, convey what it actually means to make business more humane. The book strives to humanize business. It aims to show that it is not people who have to suppress their human feelings, aspirations, and beliefs when they are at their workplaces, but it is business itself that needs to be redefined by the human norms of human beings. Companies should care about their employees and other stakeholders letting them be themselves, i.e. be human, at work and beyond. The book will be of interest to management scholars across various business disciplines. It can also be used as teaching material in the classroom with MBA students, especially in Business Ethics, Business and Society, Sustainability, Organizational Behavior, Human Resource Management and other management courses. The volume will also be of interest to scholars that work in different Humanities fields and whose interests span organizations, management, and business. Finally, many practitioners in the business world, especially those in managerial and leadership positions, will find the book both thought-provoking and useful for them as well. Chapter 37 is available open access under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License via link.springer.com.
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management, Business Ethics by
A thoroughly updated new edition, now reflecting the current business climate of featured countries Features entries from over 220 philosophers, theologians, social scientists, management professors, and practitioners Maintains the standard terms and concepts in business ethics Interweaves the lessons learned from recent instances of financial malfeasance by companies such as Enron, WorldCom, Global Crossing, and Tyco Includes many new subjects such as corporate citizenship, the Sarbanes-Oxley Act, and socially responsible investing Contains entries pertaining to the increasingly sophisticated technology and science of today's world: E-Business, Internet and Business Ethics, nanotechnology, and biodiversity
Browse newswire articles on corporate social responsibility developments, events, and newly issued reports. You can limit results to articles on specific categories, such as activism, corporate governance, community development, fair trade, etc. From the left hand sidebar, select Archive and search for older news articles.
GRI Sustainability Disclosure Database
View reports from over 12,000 companies and other organizations from the years 1999 to present. Search for specific companies or filter results by size (large, MNE, and SME); broad industrial sector; country; region; report years; and report type. Report type indicates whether or not the report follows regularly updated GRI reporting standards. About 60% of the 50,000 reports included are GRI reports. Reports are in pdf format. They may be in a non-English language. On the homepage menu bar, select "About" to learn more about the Global Reporting Initiative, a Netherlands foundation, and to learn more about the database.
The Website explains that that the project: "assists community, environmental and labor organizations in researching companies and industries. Our focus is on identifying information that can be used to advance corporate accountability campaigns."
Learn about different information sources in the Guide to Corporate Research. Search for company civil and criminal penalties and judgments in Violation Tracker, which covers cases from over 40 federal regulatory agencies and all divisions of the Justice Department since 2000.
The Dirt Diggers Digest provides news on company violations. The Corporate Research Project site is affiliated with Good Jobs First, a Website that provides information about federal, state, and local subsidies to companies.
Profiles of every non-financial (corporate responsibility – CR) report worldwide, across all sectors and including all types of organization.
Corporate Accountability Lab (CAL)
Corporate Accountability Lab unleashes the creative potential of the law to protect people and the planet from corporate abuse.
Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED)
Learn more about certification developed by the Green Business Certification Inc. These standards help reduce both electricity cost and carbon emissions, and also protect health of humans and the environment.
This family of environmental management standards help companies and other organizations reduce negative impacts on air, water, and land and comply with laws and regulations. The ISO, International Organization for Standardization, is a non-governmental organization with a membership of 161 national standard bodies.
"ISO 26000 provides guidance on how businesses and organizations can operate in a socially responsible way. This means acting in an ethical and transparent way that contributes to the health and welfare of society."--from Webpage linked above. The ISO, International Organization for Standardization, is a non-governmental organization with a membership of 161 national standard bodies.
For more information on this standard, see Discovering ISO 26000.
Darden Camp Library, First Floor, 100 Darden Blvd., Darden Business School, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA 22903 Mailing Address: Darden Camp Library, PO Box 6550, Charlottesville, VA 22906-6550 Google Map with Darden Library Email: library@darden.virginia.edu Phone: (434) 924-7321 FAX: (434) 924-3533