A-Z Databases

Go to this updated version of the popular Hoovers database with background information on companies and industries. Provides in depth list of company subsidiaries and affiliates and company financial data. Select from a broad assortment of market research reports and download RMA Industry Norms pdfs providing industry financial ratios. Use D&B Hoovers to search and build a company list, limiting by location, industry, size, etc.

Known Error: If you get an error message try opening the link in an incognito window or clearing your cookies in your browser history.

Search this database for information about emerging market countries, companies, industries, and economic conditions. Click on Client Login icon to get to database.

Search this database for news articles from US and international newspapers, business/trade journals, and newswire services. Use the "News Pages" tab to view current articles from the Wall Street Journal, NY Times, and other major news publications. Click on the "Companies/Markets" tab to find company profiles, data from 10-Ks, and quotes for stocks, funds, currencies, and indices.

Go to Factset for current news, market data, financial filings, and data for equities, ETFs, currency, indices, fixed income, commodities, futures, and economics. You can create portfolios, analyze their constituents, monitor performance and compare to benchmark indices or funds.

Darden users request access from the Darden Help Desk at https://servicedesk.darden.virginia.edu/support/catalog/items/61 . On the navigation bar, select New Ticker. Please let them know whether you want Workstation Access or Connected Access (Web Version).

Go here for information about over 700 US industries. Provides information about industry performance, outlook, products and markets, competitive landscape, major companies, operating conditions, and key statistics. Select icon under page heading to download a complete report.

You must register for a Dewey account using your UVA or Darden email address  and authenticate with NetBadge. Dewey Data is a research platform that provides access to third-party datasets across a variety of data categories including healthcare, management, workforce, consumer behavior, and transportation. For more information please see this Dewey Data Guide.

Gallup Analytics is an online platform that provides subscribers with access to nearly a century of U.S. data and a decade of global tracking data known as the Gallup World Poll.

Market Atlas provides tools for both interactive online research and easy predefined report access. These tools and reports are reflected across multiple product modules including Company, Sustainability, Industry, Country, and Economic analysis.
The Market Atlas database of corporate information covering over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading.

Vault.com is an online career guide library, blog site and company research destination. UVA Darden has access to all career guides, blog posts (including a day-in-the-life series), interview prep materials, company listings, and industry overviews.  Use this resource to research specific industries, professions and employers for career exploration and internship and job search, as well as to prepare for networking opportunities, career fairs and interviews. First time user? Click where it says Sign Up/Sign In.

Access to WSJ.com, the WSJ App, and the WSJ Archives. Students will have access until their graduation date; faculty and staff must renew using this link annually.
You must create an account using your UVA email address.