LibGuides: Research Guides: Healthcare Industry

About this guide

Starting points for research into the business of health care: hospitals, facilities, professional practices, insurance, and health economics.

Industry/Market Research

IBISWorld
Go here for information about over 700 US industries. Provides information about industry performance, outlook, products and markets, competitive landscape, major companies, operating conditions, and key statistics. Select icon under page heading to download a complete report.

Search IBISWorld for specific terms such as health, healthcare, dentist, doctors, physicians, insurance, hospitals, clinics, medical devices, supplies, etc.

EMIS (Connect to Darden VPN)
Search this database for information about emerging market countries, companies, industries, and economic conditions.

Search EMIS for market research of emerging technologies and scientific breakthroughs in healthcare related industries. US and global. reports on health care and life sciences, drug discovery and clinical diagnostics, medical devices, medical imaging, patient monitoring, pharmaceuticals and biotechnology. Especially good for information technology applications in health care.

Statista
Choose University of Virginia in the drop-down list under “If you have access” and login through NetBadge. Search here for statistics on 170 industries from over 50 countries. For a broader prospective, browse and view Statista dossiers, industry reports, market studies, outlook reports, surveys, and country reports.
CFRA Marketscope Advisor (Connect to Darden VPN)
Must Connect to Darden VPN. Go to CFRA for industry surveys and financial reports on stocks, ETFs, and Mutual Funds. CFRA prepared S&P Industry Surveys and other S&P reports for years. CFRA still uses S&P Global data, but publishes under their own name.

Search CFRA healthcare industries by clicking on Industry Surveys on the left-hand side, then selecting Healthcare Equipment & Supplies, Healthcare Facilties, or Healthcare Technology.

Capital IQ (Connect to Darden VPN)
Consider using CapIQ if you need current and historical market and financial data and/or want to screen for companies, deals, and persons. Cap IQ is also a great source for earnings call transcripts, and company compariative analysis.

Search Capital IQ for research on the healthcare industry.

Data

Health Workforce Research
Health workforce reports.from federal Health Resources and Services Administration
American Hospital Directory from the American Hospital Association
Hospital profiles are available without a subscription.
Best US Hospitals
Rankings by specialty from US News. For consumers.
HCUP (Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project) - Data for hospital, emergency, ambulatory, by condition and other healthcare costs and payers.
MEPS (Medical Expenditure Panel Survey) Expenditures: expenditures by health care service (Medicaid, Medicare, private insurance), insurance expenditures, medical condition expenditures, per health incident cost, expenditures by length of hospital stay, expenditures for top prescribed drugs and drug classes.

News/Articles

Factiva
Aggregated news from national and local newspapers, magazines, trade publications, and transcripts. Factiva includes access to the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and Barron's. Content is available in 22 languages. Factiva also houses succinct company profiles, Factiva's indexing tools and more.

Type Healthcare in the search bar of the new Factiva and scroll down to select Healthcare/Life Sciences Industry.

Business Source Complete
Search this database for articles in 1,200 business journals, magazines, and trade journals. Also provides industry reports, country profiles, and company SWOT analyses. Business Source Complete is often the best place to start your research.

Provides full text or pdf articles from the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Perspectives, Administrative Science Quarterly, California Management Review, and the Journal of Business Ethics.