LibGuides: Company Research: Getting Started

About this guide

Use the resources in this guide to locate company profiles, financials, analyst reports, and news.

Suggested Guides

Researching a Company's Legal Proceedings
by Heather Enderle Last Updated Feb 25, 2025 1010 views this year

Other Resources

EDGAR By SEC
Search for active public company 10k and 10q information (and much more) here. Forms are downloadable and go back to 2000.
Old Company Filings (pre 2000)
Filings prior to the 1990s may be found here. There may be a fee to receive copies of historic filings. Provided by the Library of Congress

Finding Analyst Reports

Go to LSEG Workspace

1. Click on the Research tab

2. Select Advanced Search

3. You can then search for a particular company, keyword, etc. (the easiest thing to do would be to search via ticker symbol)

4. You can refine your search by selecting company under report type

5. You may want to change the date, it defaults to 90 days.

6. Reports are free but there are download restrictions

For a video demo please see : Analyst Reports in LSEG Workspace

Key Resources

D&B Hoovers (Connect to Darden VPN) This link opens in a new window
Go to this updated version of the popular Hoovers database with background information on companies and industries. Provides in depth list of company subsidiaries and affiliates and company financial data. Select from a broad assortment of market research reports and download RMA Industry Norms pdfs providing industry financial ratios. Use D&B Hoovers to search and build a company list, limiting by location, industry, size, etc.

Known Error: If you get an error message try opening the link in an incognito window or clearing your cookies in your browser history.
LSEG Workspace (AKA Refinitiv) This link opens in a new window
Before logging on for the first time you must register for an account at
https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html
Users must create their account using their @darden.virginia.edu address. Make sure to select Graduate Student for the Reference field, Workspace for Students in the Product field, and in the Add On (Optional) section select AMR for students to enable access to analyst reports. Make sure to check your email after signing up and following the directions in the Welcome email from Refinitiv.
Factset This link opens in a new window
Go to Factset for current news, market data, financial filings, and data for equities, ETFs, currency, indices, fixed income, commodities, futures, and economics. You can create portfolios, analyze their constituents, monitor performance and compare to benchmark indices or funds.

Darden users request access from the Darden Help Desk at https://servicedesk.darden.virginia.edu/support/catalog/items/61 . On the navigation bar, select New Ticker. Please let them know whether you want Workstation Access or Connected Access (Web Version).
Bloomberg Financial Markets (in Camp Library only)
Log onto the library Bloomberg terminals for real-time and historical data for stocks, bonds, commodities, currencies, indices, etc. Also features news as well as information on corporate executives and directors. Use the League command to view investment banking league tables and details on specific deals. Use the MA command to search for Mergers and Acquisitions deals.
Please contact the Darden reference librarian if you would like a short tutorial on how to use Bloomberg and install the Excel Addin.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Search this database for news articles from US and international newspapers, business/trade journals, and newswire services. Use the "News Pages" tab to view current articles from the Wall Street Journal, NY Times, and other major news publications. Click on the "Companies/Markets" tab to find company profiles, data from 10-Ks, and quotes for stocks, funds, currencies, and indices.
Limit the results of your search while setting up your search and/or while you view results. You can specify date, industry, geographic region, and type of publication. You can also limit results to one or more specific publications.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Go here for company information, including data from 10-K's and 10-Q's, bond ratings and covenants, company histories, etc. Includes over 35,000 current and former publicly traded companies.
Pitchbook This link opens in a new window
Search Pitchbook for information on venture capital and private equity companies, funds, limited partners, service providers, founders, investors and buyers. In many cases, Pitchbook provides information about deals and funding. Please connect to the Darden VPN prior to logging in. Please note this is a new link, so update your bookmarks, or go to my.pitchbook.com and click on Log in with SSO.
EMIS (Connect to Darden VPN) This link opens in a new window
Search this database for information about emerging market countries, companies, industries, and economic conditions. Click on Client Login icon to get to database.
PrivCo: Private Company (use Darden VPN; Select Direct Access) This link opens in a new window
Turn to PrivCo for information and financial data on private companies. Includes over 500,000 company profiles; 18,000 investor profiles; and information on over 100,000 private M&A and VC funding deals. PrivCo software interface allows you to search for companies by location, industry, revenues, number of employees, and ownership criteria. You can also search for private market investors and venture capital fundings by preferred location, industry, and other criteria.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Search this database for company information, SEC filings, newspaper and trade journal articles, legal information, and biographies. For company information, use the Menu near the top of the page to select Company Dossier. Search for your company. Many conglomerates will have a Company Hierarchy page, showing subsidiaries and affiliated companies.