LibGuides: Company Research: News & Academic Articles

News Sources

Current
Historical

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Search this database for news articles from US and international newspapers, business/trade journals, and newswire services. Use the "News Pages" tab to view current articles from the Wall Street Journal, NY Times, and other major news publications. Click on the "Companies/Markets" tab to find company profiles, data from 10-Ks, and quotes for stocks, funds, currencies, and indices.
Limit the results of your search while setting up your search and/or while you view results. You can specify date, industry, geographic region, and type of publication. You can also limit results to one or more specific publications.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Search this database for company information, SEC filings, newspaper and trade journal articles, legal information, and biographies. For company information, use the Menu near the top of the page to select Company Dossier. Search for your company. Many conglomerates will have a Company Hierarchy page, showing subsidiaries and affiliated companies.
LSEG Workspace (AKA Refinitiv) This link opens in a new window
Before logging on for the first time you must register for an account at
https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html
Users must create their account using their @darden.virginia.edu address. Make sure to select Graduate Student for the Reference field, Workspace for Students in the Product field, and in the Add On (Optional) section select AMR for students to enable access to analyst reports. Make sure to check your email after signing up and following the directions in the Welcome email from Refinitiv.

New York Times (Historical 1851 - 2014) This link opens in a new window
Researchers looking for non-current issues from the New York Times can view PDF copies of articles, letters, stock quotes, advertising, and classified ads.
Wall Street Journal (Historical 1889-2003) This link opens in a new window
Researchers needing older issues of the Wall Street Journal should consider this database, which provides PDF files containing articles, letters, stock quotes, tables, and advertisements. For current Wall Street Journal articles, go to the Factiva database.
Washington Post Historical (1877-2001) This link opens in a new window
Scholars needing older material from the Washington Post should turn to this database which provides PDF copies of articles, letters, advertisements, and classified advertising. For current Washington Post articles, go to either Factiva or to Lexis Nexis Academic.

Magazines, Trade Journals, and Scholarly Articles

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Search this database for articles in 1,200 business journals, magazines, and trade journals. Also provides industry reports, country profiles, and company SWOT analyses. Business Source Complete is often the best place to start your research.
Provides full text or pdf articles from the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Perspectives, Administrative Science Quarterly, California Management Review, and the Journal of Business Ethics.
Browzine This link opens in a new window
Browse tables of contents and articles from academic journals. Use this database to search for known publications or look at scholarly journals in broad subjects areas.
Hospitality and Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
Users focused on hospitality and tourism should consider this database of articles and reports.