LibGuides: Darden Camp Library: Grey Literature, Government Data, Stats & Analysis

Databases for Government Data

Overton This link opens in a new window
Overton is the world’s largest searchable index of policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers. It collects data from 188 countries and over a thousand sources worldwide with more being added all the time. To access click on the Overton icon on the upper right side of the screen. API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
Sage Data (Formerly Data-Planet) This link opens in a new window
Print out or download data from over 400 databases from 70 public and private organizations.
Business data providers include Standard & Poor’s, Dow Jones, Zillow Real Estate Metrics, and the Institute for Supply Management, as well as a number of exchanges such as the Bombay Stock Exchange, Chicago Board of Options Exchange, Deutsche Boerse Group, FTSE Group, Hang Seng Index, London Bullion Market Association, London Platinum and Palladium Market, NASDAQ OMX Group, Nikkei, and the Shanghai Stock Exchange.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Search here for statistics on 170 industries from over 50 countries. For a broader prospective, browse and view Statista dossiers, industry reports, market studies, outlook reports, surveys, and country reports.
Hein Online This link opens in a new window
Retrospective, full-text .pdf coverage of hundreds of legal periodicals, U.S. Supreme Court cases, the U.S. Statutes at Large, Congressional Record, hearings and other legislative history materials, Federal Register, U.S. Attorney General opinions, U.S. treaties and agreements, Foreign and International Law, Israel Law Reports, English Reports, Hague Academy Recueil des Cours, Parker School of Foreign and Comparative Law collection, and the Virginia Law Weekly archive. Searchable by citation, author/title, and keyword.

Economic, Demographic, and Energy Research from Government Agencies

Federal Reserve Board of Governors
Includes links to Federal Reserve branches, economic education, news, monetary policy and much more.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: White Papers
It is the principal fact-finding agency in the broad field of labor economics and statistics and serves as part of the U.S. Federal Statistical System. BLS collects, calculates, analyzes, and publishes data essential to the public, employers, researchers, and government organizations.
U.S. Census Bureau
Explore Census Data: learn about America’s People, Places, and Economy.
U.S. Energy Information Administration
Independent statistics and analysis
Office of Financial Research
Includes data and datasets and a number of monitors. Including monetary monitors and hedge fund monitors as well as publications.
FINRA
FINRA is a self-regulatory organization for U.S. broker-dealers that is responsible under federal law for supervising member firms. Data is available for equities, fixed income, mutual funds, corporate finance, investors, representatives and firms.
U.S. Treasury Fiscal Data
Wide range of data is available pertaining to federal government spending and debt. Available data includes information on topics such as: auctions, debt, financial summaries, interest & exchange rates, revenue, savings bonds and spending.
OFAC Sanctions List
From the Office of Foreign Assets Control, with the US Treasury, "OFAC administers a number of different sanctions programs. The sanctions can be either comprehensive or selective, using the blocking of assets and trade restrictions to accomplish foreign policy and national security goals." From their website, search an alphabetical list of current sanctions (alphabetical by country and/or conflict).

Grey Literature

National Bureau of Economic Research | NBER
A private, nonpartisan organization that facilitates cutting-edge investigation and analysis of major economic issues. It disseminates research findings to academics, public and private-sector decision-makers, and the public by posting more than 1,200 working papers and convening more than 120 scholarly conferences, each year.
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)
An initiative that seeks to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related areas. We want to make research more accessible both for the authors and the readers. RePEc is a crowd-sourced effort: a) thousands of people and organizations contribute the underlying data, b) a core team of contributors manage the system, and c) sponsor organizations provide the infrastructure. As such, the RePEc initiative has no central expenses, and thus can provide all services for free to all users.
Financial Economics Network
Financial Economics concentrates on monetary activities such as the study of financial variables including prices, interest rates, and shares, as well as risk and other variables related to financial decisions. The Financial Economics Network on SSRN is an open access preprint server that provides a venue for authors to showcase their research papers in our digital library, speeding up the dissemination and providing the scholarly community access to groundbreaking working papers and early-stage research.
UN Digital Library
Search for speeches, public domain documents, votes and more. You can search by UN body or document type.