LibGuides: Research Guides: Economics Research

Databases for literature on economics

EconLit
Search Econlit for scholarly publications on economics, finance, and accounting topics from over 400 journals as well as books, dissertations, book reviews, working papers, and articles in collective volumes.
Business Source Complete
Search this database for articles in 1,200 business journals, magazines, and trade journals. Also provides industry reports, country profiles, and company SWOT analyses. Business Source Complete is often the best place to start your research.

Provides full text or pdf articles from the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Perspectives, Administrative Science Quarterly, California Management Review, and the Journal of Business Ethics.
Web of Knowledge/Web of Science
Use this database to identify scholarly articles that have cited a particular paper or book, or a particular author. This database is also useful for establishing citation counts for specific authors and for generally searching for articles on specific topics in scholarly journals covering science, social science, and arts and humanities fields.

EMIS (Connect to Darden VPN)
Search this database for information about emerging market countries, companies, industries, and economic conditions.
ABI/Inform Global
ABI/INFORM Global offers the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. It allows users to research business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape.
Statista
Choose University of Virginia in the drop-down list under “If you have access” and login through NetBadge. Search here for statistics on 170 industries from over 50 countries. For a broader prospective, browse and view Statista dossiers, industry reports, market studies, outlook reports, surveys, and country reports.
Bloomberg Financial Markets (in Camp Library only)
Log onto the library Bloomberg terminals for real-time and historical data for stocks, bonds, commodities, currencies, indices, etc. Also features news as well as information on corporate executives and directors. Use the League command to view investment banking league tables and details on specific deals. Use the MA command to search for Mergers and Acquisitions deals.

Please contact the Darden reference librarian if you would like a short tutorial on how to use Bloomberg and install the Excel Addin.

World Economic Outlook Databases
The World Economic Outlook (WEO) database is created during the biannual WEO exercise, which begins in January and June of each year and results in the April and September/October WEO publication. Selected series from the publication are available in a database format. See also the World Economic Outlook reports. Created by the IMF.
Global Economic Monitor
The database provides daily updates of high-frequency indicators on global economic developments, encompassing both advanced economies and emerging market and developing economies. Data are provided at monthly and/or quarterly frequencies, as well as annual series. It includes data on consumer prices, exchange rates, foreign reserves, GDP, industrial production, merchandise trade, retail sales, stock markets, terms of trade, and unemployment. By the IMF.
Global Economic Data
Provided by the United Nations. Includes multiple datasets including: Global Economic Data Outlook, LDC Data and WESP Annex Tables.

United States Federal Reserve Board of Governors
The Federal Reserve System is the central bank of the United States. It performs five general functions to promote the effective operation of the U.S. economy and, more generally, the public interest.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
"BEA's economists produce some of the world's most closely watched statistics, including U.S. gross domestic product, better known as GDP. We do state and local numbers, too, plus foreign trade and investment stats and industry data." From their about page.