Country Information: Spain

• Use the dropdown menu to select Spain.
• Offers basic information on history, government, military, economy, communications, transportation, demographics, and social conditions.
• Published by the US Central Intelligence Agency.

• For cultural advice, select Career Guides, Country Career Guides.  Select Spain.  Click on Living There and select the section on Cultural Advice.  There is also a Global City Career Guide for Madrid.
• This database also provides information on jobs and internships.  To view these, select Internships or Jobs from the menu bar.  Limit your search by country and enter keyword MBA..

Ask us to extend checkout period for travel guides during the week of your trip.

Instituto Nacional de Estadística (National Statistics Institute)

• Statistical bureau for Spain.
• Includes statistics on labor and income, the economy, and society, including basic demographics..

• Consult the  OECD Economic Surveys: Spain for information about the economy.
• Alternatively, go to OECD i-Library and click on Browse by Country.  This will help you retrieve other publications on Spain..

• Contains economic time series data
• Datasets include International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics
• For a quick search, click on Data by Country/Economy.  Select Spain and click on GO.  Click on International Financial Statistics.  Use the tab to view Exchange Rates, Reserves, Interest Rates, etc. Change Date by using the drop down menu.  You can add and remove years and quarter by right clicking and making appropriate selections.

• Provides social and economic statistics for key indicators for each country as well as regions, including the European Union
• Consists of several individual databases with some overlap in indicators; databases include:
  • World Development Indicators
  • Education Statistics
  • Gender Statistics
  • Poverty and Equity Database

• Includes economic and socio-demographic data
• Use the Advanced Search function to search for data across a range of UN databases

• Provides statistical data and research on the European Union.
• Publications include the Eurstat Yearbook, the Eurostat Regional Yearbook, and the Statistical Atlas.
• Set up a free user account for more flexibility in selecting data.

• Broad variety of news sources.
• On the search page select News Pages on the top menu bar.
• Select Spain from the drop down menu on the left side.
• Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds.

• Contains articles from scholarly and trade journals, newspapers, and magazines as well as industry and company reports
• To find news about the Spain:
  • Enter Spain in the search box and select Subject under Select a Field
  • Select Newspaper and/or Periodical under Publication type
• Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds

• Go here for PowerPoint presentations with sections on current events, political outlook, economic outlook, and demographic and economic outlook.
• Scroll down to West Europe and download the Spain Country Report.  Be sure to look over economic outlook section.
• To access this, you will need to be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds.

• Go here for Information on the business landscape, trade regulations, investment climate, and political & economic environment of 125 countries
• This site is designed for US companies seeking opportunities outside the United States.
• Explore the guide on Spain.

• To use this, you must be connected to the Darden VPN when off-Grounds.
• Browse these country reports:
  • Spain Country Profile report from Marketline.
  • Spain Country Monitor by IHS. 
  • Spain Country Review from CountryWatch.
• You can also search articles and reports on various business related topics.
• Start by searching for Spain as a subject heading and limiting results to the last ten years of results.
  • SU Spain
• Enter additional terms to the second search box to limit to a specific industry or topic..
  • Ex.:  SU Spain AND SU (bank* OR financ*)
  • Ex.:  SU Spain AND SU Wine 
• Use limiters on the left hand side of the results page to narrow results by date, source type, and geography.

Banco de España

• "The Banco de España is the national central bank and, within the framework of the Single Supervisory Mechanism (SSM), the supervisor of the Spanish banking system along with the European Central Bank. Its activity is regulated by the Law of Autonomy of the Banco de España." -- from About Us page.

European Central Bank

• Headquartered in Frankfurt Germany, the European Central Bank determines monetary policy for the Eurozone.
• This site features research publications, statistical data, and other valuable information.