Skip to Main Content
  Library Home   |   About   |   Databases   |   Library for Students   |   Library for Faculty   |   Research Guides  

Scholarly Publications: Creating and Maintaining a ResearchGate Profile

Adding full text to publications on ResearchGate

  1. Check which versions of a publication, if any, you may post on ResearchGate using the Posting Journal Articles Online guide.  Please only post the full-text of articles that have been published in journals that allow you to do so.
  2. From any page on ResearchGate, click the arrow next to your profile picture and select Your Profile from the drop down menu.


    Screenshot of the drop down menu that includes the option "Your Profile"​
     
  3. Select Contributions from the menu on your profile page.


    Screenshot of profile page with an arrow pointing to "Contributions" in the menu
     
  4. Select Add Full-text under the publication for which you would like to upload full text.


    Screenshot of the Your Publications list with an arrow pointing to Add Full Text under a publication
  5. Click Select File and upload a PDF version of the article and click Upload.


    Screenshot of the "Upload full-text" screen.

If you have questions you may find the following ResearchGate link helpful.

How to add research (researchgate.net)

If you are using a mobile device, you can also view a PDF version of this guide with screenshots.

Academic Journal Copyright Policies

In general, authors who publish articles in academic journals are required to sign a copyright transfer agreement, which grants the journal's publisher copyright for the article.  This limits whether the full text of an article can be posted on sites like ResearchGate (citations for any article may be posted anywhere, including RG).  

The guide below contains a chart with guidelines detailing whether articles from specific journals may be posted on ResearchGate.

Darden Camp Library, First Floor, 100 Darden Blvd., Darden Business School, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Mailing Address: Darden Camp Library, PO Box 6550, Charlottesville, VA 22906-6550  Google Map with Darden Library
Email: library@darden.virginia.edu   Phone: (434) 924-7321   FAX: (434) 924-3533

Darden Portal  |  Darden Homepage  |  UVA Homepage