LibGuides: Country Information: Japan: Home

News

Business Source Complete
Provides full text or pdf articles from the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Perspectives, Administrative Science Quarterly, California Management Review, and the Journal of Business Ethics.

Contains articles from scholarly and trade journals, newspapers, and magazines as well as industry and company reports
To find news about Japan:
- Enter Japan in the search box and select GE Geographic Terms under Select a Field
- Select Newspaper and/or Periodical under Publication type
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds

Factiva

Broad variety of news sources
Go to Switch Factiva at the top of the screen
Go to Search Builder an then expand the Region field and search for Japan
Add additional search criteria as desired and click Search
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds

Economist.com
The Economist offers a full range of analysis, including special reports, data journalism, podcasts, films and audio versions. You must first self-register using your @darden.virginia.edu email address here
Access World News
Search here for news from a broad list of sources, including the Richmond Times Dispatch and Daily Progress. Does not contain the business specific features of such news databases as Factiva and Lexis Nexis Academic.
Click on Help icon to view step by step instructions and video tutorials.

Country Overview

World Factbook

Use the dropdown menu to select Japan
Offers basic information on the country's government, economy, and society
Published by the CIA

Culture

GoinGlobal

Though GoinGlobal focuses primarily on career search resources, each country and city profile does have information on the culture and business etiquette
Contains profiles of Japan (click on Country Career Guides)
Explore the Living There and General Resources section of each profile
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds

Business and the Economy

International Strategic Analysis

PowerPoint presentations detailing the political, economic, and demographic outlook and current events for each country listed
Scroll down to East Asia and Pacific and download the Japan Country Report
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds

OECD i-Library

Consult the OECD Economic Survey: Japan 2015 for information about the Japanese economy
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds

Business Source Complete
Provides full text or pdf articles from the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Perspectives, Administrative Science Quarterly, California Management Review, and the Journal of Business Ethics.

Search for the latest Japan Country Profile from Marketline, particularly the portions on the economic landscape
Search for the latest Japan Country Report
You can also search for reports on individual industries. Enter the name of the industry in the search box. On the results page, use the limiters on the left hand side to narrow results by date, source type (industry profiles), and geography.
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off-Grounds

Euromonitor Passport
Search this site for analyses and data on global consumer markets. Provides market size by country and/or region and marketshare for companies and brands. Also features information and data on consumer demographic groups, as well as country economic data.

Travel Guides

Japan by Chris Rowthorn; Ray Bartlett Lonely Planet: The world's leading travel guide publisher Lonely PlanetJapanis your passport to the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Shop and dine in electric Tokyo, explore Kyoto's stunning temples and gardens, or hike the majestic Japan Alps; all with your trusted travel companion. Get to the heart of Japan and begin your journey now! Inside Lonely Planet'sJapan Travel Guide: Colourmaps and images throughout Highlightsand itineraries help you tailor your trip to your personal needs and interests Insider tips to save time and money and get around like a local, avoiding crowds and trouble spots Essential infoat your fingertips - hours of operation, phone numbers, websites, transit tips, prices Honest reviews for all budgets - eating, sleeping, sight-seeing, going out, shopping, hidden gems that most guidebooks miss Cultural insights give you a richer, more rewarding travel experience - including history, art, architecture, literature, cuisine, sake,onsen (hot springs), customs and etiquette, language and more Free, convenient pull-out Tokyo map (included in print version), plus over 148 colour maps Covers Tokyo, Mt Fuji, Kyoto, Osaka, Kansai, the Japan Alps, Hokkaido, Northern Honshu (Tohoku), Okinawa & the Southwest Islands, Kyushu, Shikoku, and more The Perfect Choice:Lonely Planet Japan, our most comprehensive guide to Japan, is perfect for both exploring top sights and taking roads less travelled. Looking for just the highlights of Japan? Check outLonely Planet's Discover Japan, a photo-rich guide to the country's most popular attractions. Looking for a guide focused on Tokyo or Kyoto? Check outLonely Planet's Tokyo guide andKyoto guide for a comprehensive look at what each of these cities has to offer; orLonely Planet's Pocket Tokyo, a handy-sized guide focused on the can't-miss sights for a quick trip. Authors: Written and researched by Lonely Planet. About Lonely Planet:Since 1973, Lonely Planet has become the world's leading travel media company with guidebooks to every destination, an award-winning website, mobile and digital travel products, and a dedicated traveller community. Lonely Planet covers must-see spots but also enables curious travellers to get off beaten paths to understand more of the culture of the places in which they find themselves.
Call Number: Turner Leisure Collection
ISBN: 9781743216743
Publication Date: 2015
Japan - Culture Smart! by Paul Norbury
Call Number: Darden Turner Collection
ISBN: 9781857336146
Publication Date: 2022

Statistics & Data

Gallup Analytics
Gallup Analytics is an online platform that provides subscribers with access to nearly a century of U.S. data and a decade of global tracking data known as the Gallup World Poll.

Official Statistics of Japan

Statistical bureau of Japan
Includes statistics on labor and income, the economy, and society, including basic demographics

IMF eLibrary Data (International Monetary Fund)

Contains economic time series data
Datasets include International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds

World DataBank (World Bank)

Provides social and economic statistics for key indicators for each country as well as regions in some cases
Consists of several individual databases with overlap in indicators; databases include:
- World Development Indicators
- Education Statistics
- Gender Statistics
- Poverty and Equity Database
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds

UN Data (United Nations)

Includes economic and socio-demographic data
Use the Advanced Search function to search for data across a range of UN databases