LibGuides: International News: Home

Setting Up News Alerts

Set up news alerts on your area of interest from many university resources. For more information on how to set up news alerts, click here.

International News Sources

Access World News
Search here for news from a broad list of sources, including the Richmond Times Dispatch and Daily Progress. Does not contain the business specific features of such news databases as Factiva and Lexis Nexis Academic.
Click on Help icon to view step by step instructions and video tutorials.
Economist.com
The Economist offers a full range of analysis, including special reports, data journalism, podcasts, films and audio versions. You must first self-register using your @darden.virginia.edu email address here
EMIS (Connect to Darden VPN)
Search this database for information about emerging market countries, companies, industries, and economic conditions. Click on Client Login icon to get to database.
Factiva
Aggregated news from national and local newspapers, magazines, trade publications, and transcripts. Factiva includes access to the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and Barron's. Content is available in 22 languages. Factiva also houses succinct company profiles, Factiva's indexing tools and more.
New York Times
Online access to the New York Times includes full entry to the archives from 1851 to present day. Features include Spanish and Chinese editions plus hundreds of articles published in other languages and access to The New York Times Magazine. There is a 5 PDF download limit per day.
Users must be On-Grounds or have their VPN turned on and then will have to create an account with NYTimes.
Nexis Uni
Search this database for company information, SEC filings, newspaper and trade journal articles, legal information, and biographies. For company information, use the Menu near the top of the page to select Company Dossier. Search for your company. Many conglomerates will have a Company Hierarchy page, showing subsidiaries and affiliated companies.
Wall Street Journal
Access to WSJ.com, the WSJ App, and the WSJ Archives. Students will have access until their graduation date; faculty and staff must renew using this link annually.
You must create an account using your UVA email address.

UVA Resources

The University of Virginia has a wealth of international news resources. To learn more about what the main university library subscribes to, click here.