LibGuides: Country Information: India: Home

Country Overview

World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Turn to the World Factbook for information on 267 countries. Provides background and data related to history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and international relations for each country.

Use the dropdown menu to select India.
Offers basic information on history, government, military, economy, communications, transportation, demographics, and social conditions.
Published by the US Central Intelligence Agency.

Business Source Complete - Country Reports

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Search this database for articles in 1,200 business journals, magazines, and trade journals. Also provides industry reports, country profiles, and company SWOT analyses. Business Source Complete is often the best place to start your research.
Provides full text or pdf articles from the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Perspectives, Administrative Science Quarterly, California Management Review, and the Journal of Business Ethics.

Search for articles on business & economics

Connect to Darden VPN to access or download articles.
Click on publication titles below to link to business articles on India.
Change sort feature from Relevance to Date Newest.
Use additional words in the search box to limit your results to specific topics.

Connect to Darden VPN to access or download articles.
Select publication to view articles on India.
Change sort feature from Relevance to Date Newest
You can limit your search by subjects listed on the right side, such as economics, international trade, manufacturing industries, etc.
- The Economist
- New York Times

Financial Institutions

Reserve Bank of India

Determines monetary policy
Site features Database of Indian Economy

Culture

GoinGlobal This link opens in a new window
Go here for current job and internship listings and country career guides.

For cultural insight, go to Career Guides, Country Career Guides. Select India. Click on Living There and select section on Cultural Advice. You may also consider viewing the guides for Chennai, Delhi, and/or Mumbia. (Go to Global City Career Guides.)
This database also provides information on jobs and internships. To view these, select Internships or Jobs from the menu bar. Limit your search by country and enter keyword MBA..

Travel Guides - India

Fodor's Essential India by Fodor's Travel Publications, Inc. Staff
ISBN: 9781101878088
Publication Date: 2015-04-14
Written by locals, Fodor's travel guides have been offering expert advice for all tastes and budgets for 80 years. India is a country of vibrant and enticing contrasts: exquisite palaces are juxtaposed against simple temples, and modern high-tech industry coexists with ancient customs and rituals. There's much to see and do in this vast and geographically diverse country, and Fodor's Essential India covers the must-see sights better than anyone else.This travel guide includes:· Dozens of full-color maps · An 8-page color insert with a brief introduction and spectacular photos that capture the top experiences and attractions throughout India· Hundreds of hotel and restaurant recommendations, with Fodor's Choice designating our top picks· Multiple itineraries to explore the top attractions and what's off the beaten path· In-depth breakout features on Ajanta and Ellora Caves, The Taj Mahal, and Varanasi· Side Trips from Delhi including Agra and environs, Khajuraho, and Varanasi· Coverage of Delhi, Rajasthan, Mumbai, Goa, Kerala, and Kolkata
India - Culture Smart! the Essential Guide to Customs and Culture by Becky Stephen
ISBN: 9781857338409
Publication Date: 2016-07-01
India's population of 1.2 billion is as varied and colorful as the spice markets of Old Delhi. Each region, caste, and community has its own culture, reflecting unique histories shaped by conquest, creativity, and religion, expressed in distinct languages, social customs, art forms, and expectations of life. Despite enormous recent political and economic change, in many ways India remains the same--a total sensory experience. The chaos and beauty of color and sound, the language shifts every ten miles, the household variations of spicy and sharp, sweet and sour, the insistent smells of everyday life lived very much in public, and the invasion of personal space will challenge the most experienced traveler. But it is in surrendering to your senses that you begin to embrace the essence of India and to understand its people. Indians live with paradox. Proud traditions and patriotism commingle with tensions and prejudices rooted in age-old rivalries. Ancient temples may be plastered with signs advertising the latest technologies. The rapid urbanization of the last century has given rise to burgeoning slums and an affluent middle class that was nonexistent a few decades ago. Steeped in tradition, exceptionally fatalistic, and intensely passionate about their culture, the Indians are an ingenious, adventurous, and creative people. Show interest in their country and most will respond with genuine warmth and friendship. But they also have indelible ties to family and community that form boundaries and determine decisions that may not always seem reasonable, or sometimes even ethical, to outsiders. Culture Smart! India will make you aware of basic values and behavioral norms, show you how to navigate cultural differences and connect with real people, and offer invaluable insights into this great, endlessly fascinating land.
India by Sarina Singh
ISBN: 9781743216767
Publication Date: 2015-10-20
#1 best-selling guide toIndia* Lonely PlanetIndiais your passport to the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Admire the perfect symmetry of the Taj Mahal, ride a camel through the moonlit desert or cruise the lush backwaters of Kerala; all with your trusted travel companion. Get to the heart of India and begin your journey now! Inside Lonely Planet'sIndia Travel Guide: Colourmaps and images throughout Highlightsand itineraries help you tailor your trip to your personal needs and interests Insider tips to save time and money and get around like a local, avoiding crowds and trouble spots Essential infoat your fingertips- hours of operation, phone numbers, websites, transit tips, prices Honest reviews for all budgets - eating, sleeping, sight-seeing, going out, shopping, hidden gems that most guidebooks miss Cultural insights give you a richer, more rewarding travel experience - temples, cuisine, history, art, Hinduism, architecture, politics, landscapes, wildlife, customs, volunteering, yoga, ashrams, trekking Over 199 colour maps CoversDelhi's bazaars, the Taj Mahal, Rajasthan's forts and deserts, Goa's beaches, Kerala's backwaters, Mumbai's colonial-era buildings, Darjeeling's tea plantations, Khajuraho's ancient temples, Himalayan monasteries and more The Perfect Choice:Lonely Planet India, our most comprehensive guide to India, is perfect for both exploring top sights and taking roads less travelled. Looking for just the highlights of India? Check outDiscover India, a photo-rich guide to India's most popular attractions. Looking for a guide focused on Delhi, Agra, Rajasthan, Goa, Mumbai, South India or Kerala? Check outLonely Planet's South India & Keralaguide,Rajasthan, Delhi & Agraguide,orGoa & Mumbaiguide for a comprehensive look at all that these regions have to offer. Authors: Written and researched by Lonely Planet. About Lonely Planet:Since 1973, Lonely Planet has become the world's leading travel media company with guidebooks to every destination, an award-winning website, mobile and digital travel products, and a dedicated traveller community. Lonely Planet covers must-see spots but also enables curious travellers to get off beaten paths to understand more of the culture of the places in which they find themselves. *Best-selling guide to India. Source: Nielsen Bookscan, Australia, UK and USA, December 2013-November 2014

Business and the Economy

International Strategic Analysis This link opens in a new window
Provides reports on geopolitics and international economics. Includes country reports, region reports, economic forecasts, risk forecasts, weekly global update, and annual ISA Global Economic and Risk Outlook.

PowerPoint presentations with sections on current events, political outlook, economic outlook, and demographic and economic outlook.
Scroll down to Central and South Asia and download the India Country Report. Be sure to look over economic outlook section.
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds

EMIS (Connect to Darden VPN) This link opens in a new window
Search this database for information about emerging market countries, companies, industries, and economic conditions. Click on Client Login icon to get to database.

On the search page, look for the Country tab. Deselect all countries and then select India. Save.
You may also want to limit results to English language.
Use the tabs to view Country Analysis, Company Analysis, or Industry Analysis.

Country Commercial Guides This link opens in a new window
Learn more about market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs for over 125 countries. These reports are prepared by trade and industry experts at US embassies worldwide.

Information on the business landscape, trade regulations, investment climate, and political & economic environment of 125 countries
Designed for US companies seeking opportunities outside the United States.
Explore the guide on India.

Statistics & Data

Government of India Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation

Provides publications and statistics on the labor and income, the economy, and society, including basic demographics.

OECD i-Library This link opens in a new window
Explore this site for statistical databases, reports, and 19 periodicals published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. The Economic Surveys, issued biennially for many countries, provide tables and discussion on overall economic health and social conditions.

Consult the OECD Economic Surveys: India for information about the economy.
Alternatively, go to OECD i-Library and click on Browse by Country. This will help you retrieve other publications on India.

IMF eLibrary Data (International Monetary Fund) This link opens in a new window
Turn to this database for economic time series data from more than 200 countries and areas. Includes four datasets: International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics. The International Financial Statistics dataset includes main global and country economic indicators, exchange rates, and fund accounts data. Annual series, when available, begin with 1948 data; quarterly and monthly series, when available, begin with 1957 data.

Contains economic time series data
Datasets include International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics
For a quick search, click on Data by Country/Economy. Select India and click on GO. Click on International Financial Statistics. Use the tab to view Exchange Rates, Reserves, Interest Rates, etc. Change Date by using the drop down menu. You can add and remove years and quarter by right clicking and making appropriate selections.

World DataBank (World Bank) This link opens in a new window
Explore this database if you need statistics related to social and economic development. Contains World Bank time series data for 227 countries and 18 country groups. Features 60 databases. The most frequently used are: World Development Indicators; Education Statistics; Gender Statistics; Health Nutrition and Population Statistics; Poverty and Equity Database. The Doing Business database provides measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 189 economies. Look for various links to the tutorial and/or the FAQs page.

Provides social and economic statistics for key indicators for each country as well as regions.
Consists of several individual databases with some overlap in indicators; databases include:
- World Development Indicators
- Education Statistics
- Gender Statistics
- Poverty and Equity Database

UN Data (United Nations) This link opens in a new window
Students and researchers needing economic and socio-demographic data should consider looking at this database. It provides more than 450 statistical time series for countries from around the world.

Includes economic and socio-demographic data
Use the Advanced Search function to search for data across a range of UN databases

News

EMIS (Connect to Darden VPN) This link opens in a new window
Search this database for information about emerging market countries, companies, industries, and economic conditions. Click on Client Login icon to get to database.

On the search page, look for the Country tab. Deselect all countries and then select India. Save.
You may also want to limit results to English language.
Use the tabs to select Country Analysis. Look for the box with News.
Alternatively, you can search for a term in the search box, and limit you search to Internet publications/online newspapers; Newspapers; and News Wires.