Country Information: Hungary: Home

• Use the dropdown menu to select Hungary.
• Offers basic information on history, government, military, economy, communications, transportation, demographics, and social conditions.
• Published by the US Central Intelligence Agency.

Hungary Cultural Life 

Includes information about social norms and customs, daily life, art and cultural institutions. From Britannica.com

• PowerPoint presentations with sections on current events, political outlook, economic outlook, and demographic and economic outlook.
• Scroll down to East Europe and download the Hungary Country Report.  Be sure to look over economic outlook section.
• Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds

• Information on the business landscape, trade regulations, investment climate, and political & economic environment of 125 countries
• Designed for US companies seeking opportunities outside the United States.
• Explore the guide on Hungary.

• Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off-Grounds.
• Although this database is primarily used to identify journal and magazine articles, you can also locate country reports such as the following:
  • Hungary Country Monitor published by IHS.
  • Hungary Country Profile published by Marketline.
  • Hungary Country Review published by Country Watch.
• You can also search for reports on individual industries.  Enter the name of the industry in the search box.  On the results page, use the limiters on the left hand side to narrow results by date, source type (industry profiles), and geography.

Central Bank of Hungary (Magyar Nemzeti Bank)

"The primary objective of the MNB shall be to achieve and maintain price stability. (...) Without prejudice to its primary objective, the MNB shall support the maintenance of the stability of the system of financial intermediation, the enhancement of its resilience, its sustainable contribution to economic growth; furthermore, the MNB shall support the government’s economic policy and its policy related to environmental sustainability, using instruments at its disposal"

• Includes information on inflation
• Euro exchange rates to local currency
• Central Bank Base Rate

European Central Bank

• The European Central Bank determines monetary policy for the Eurozone.
• This site features research publications, statistical data, and other valuable information.
• Also located in Frankfurt, Germany.

Ask us to extend checkout period for travel guides during the week of your trip.

Hungarian Central Statistical Office

• Statistical bureau for Hungary
• Provides statistics on the national economy and environment, economic sectors, social factors, and much more.

• Consult the  OECD Economic Surveys: Hungary for information about the economy.
• Alternatively, go to OECD i-Library and click on Countries & Regions.  This will help you retrieve other publications on Hungary.

• Contains economic time series data
• Datasets include International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics

• Provides social and economic statistics for key indicators for each country as well as regions, including the European Union
• Consists of several individual databases with some overlap in indicators; databases include:
  • World Development Indicators
  • Education Statistics
  • Gender Statistics
  • Poverty and Equity Database

• Includes economic and socio-demographic data

• Provides statistical data and research on the European Union.
• Publications include the Eurstat Yearbook, the Eurostat Regional Yearbook, and the Statistical Atlas.
• Set up a free user account for more flexibility in selecting data.