Country Information: Germany

• Use the dropdown menu to select Germany.
• Offers basic information on history, government, military, economy, communications, transportation, demographics, and social conditions.
• Published by the US Central Intelligence Agency.

• For cultural insight, select Career Guides, Country Career Guides.  Click on Germany.  Select Living There and the section on Cultural Advice.
• Consider viewing the Berlin Global City Career Guide.  (Select Global City Career Guides.)
• This database also provides information on jobs and internships.  To view these, select Internships or Jobs from the menu bar.  Limit your search by country and enter keyword MBA..

Ask us to extend checkout period for travel guides during the week of your trip.

Destatis Statistisches Bundesamt

• Statistical bureau for Germany.
• Provides statistics on the national economy and environment, economic sectors, and society and state.

• Consult the  OECD Economic Surveys: Germany for information about the economy.
• Alternatively, go to OECD i-Library and click on Browse by Country.  This will help you retrieve other publications on Germany.

• Contains economic time series data
• Datasets include International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics
• For a quick search, click on Data by Country/Economy.  Select Germany and click on GO.  Click on International Financial Statistics.  Use the tab to view Exchange Rates, Reserves, Interest Rates, etc. Change Date by using the drop down menu.  You can add and remove years and quarter by right clicking and making appropriate selections.

• Provides social and economic statistics for key indicators for each country as well as regions, including the European Union
• Consists of several individual databases with some overlap in indicators; databases include:
  • World Development Indicators
  • Education Statistics
  • Gender Statistics
  • Poverty and Equity Database

• Includes economic and socio-demographic data
• Use the Advanced Search function to search for data across a range of UN databases

• Provides statistical data and research on the European Union.
• Publications include the Eurstat Yearbook, the Eurostat Regional Yearbook, and the Statistical Atlas.
• Set up a free user account for more flexibility in selecting data.

• Broad variety of news sources.
• On the search page select News Pages on the top menu bar.
• Select Germany from the drop down menu on the left side.
• Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds.

• Contains articles from scholarly and trade journals, newspapers, and magazines as well as industry and company reports
• To find news about Germany:
  • Enter Germany in the search box and select SU Subject under Select a Field
  • Select Newspaper and/or Periodical under Publication type
• Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds

• PowerPoint presentations with sections on current events, political outlook, economic outlook, and demographic and economic outlook.
• Scroll down to West Europe and download the Germany Country Report.  Be sure to look over economic outlook section.
• Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds

• Information on the business landscape, trade regulations, investment climate, and political & economic environment of 125 countries
• Designed for US companies seeking opportunities outside the United States.
• Explore the guide on the Germany.

• Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off-Grounds.
• Although this database is primarily used to identify journal and magazine articles, you can also locate country reports such as the following:
  • Germany Country Monitor published by IHS.
  • Germany Country Profile published by Marketline.
  • Germany Country Review published by Country Watch.
• You can also search for reports on individual industries.  Enter the name of the industry in the search box.  On the results page, use the limiters on the left hand side to narrow results by date, source type (industry profiles), and geography.

Deutsche Bundesbank

• Works with the European Central Bank to determines monetary policy and provides economic and financial data for Germany.
• Located in Frankfurt, Germany.

European Central Bank

• The European Central Bank determines monetary policy for the Eurozone.
• This site features research publications, statistical data, and other valuable information.
• Also located in Frankfurt, Germany.