Home - Country Information: France - Normandy - LibGuides at University of Virginia-Darden Business Library

Country Overview

World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Turn to the World Factbook for information on 267 countries. Provides background and data related to history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and international relations for each country.

Use the dropdown menu to select France.
Offers basic information on history, government, military, economy, communications, transportation, demographics, and social conditions.
Published by the US Central Intelligence Agency.

International Strategic Analysis This link opens in a new window
Provides reports on geopolitics and international economics. Includes country reports, region reports, economic forecasts, risk forecasts, weekly global update, and annual ISA Global Economic and Risk Outlook.

Powerpoint presentation with sections on current events, political outlook, economic outlook, and demographic information.
Scroll down to West Europe and download the France Country Report.
Must be connected to Darden VPN when off Grounds.

Culture

GoinGlobal This link opens in a new window
Go here for current job and internship listings and country career guides.

For cultural insight. Select Career Guides, County Career Guides. Click on France and select Living There, Cultural Advice.
This database also provides information on jobs and internships. To view these, select Internships or Jobs from the menu bar. Limit your search by country and enter keyword MBA..

France - Culture Smart! by Barry Tomalin France has experienced considerable upheaval in recent years. The Eurozone crisis, a new socialist president, rioting by an alienated underclass, a ban on the burqa (full veil) in public places, and an attempt to democratize the elite system of education all point to significant changes in French society. At the same time leading French companies are major investors in European energy resources, services, and luxury products, and between three and four hundred thousand French people live in Britain, making London, as former President Sarkozy stated, France's fifth- or sixth-largest city. The implications of these changes have not yet fully permeated French society, but they reveal a slow process of adaptation to new realities. Meanwhile, in international affairs, France makes a major and distinctive contribution and carefully guards its interests and prestige. The rivalry between Paris and the provinces continues the traditional split between North and South. France as a whole maintains its stately pace as a centre of culture, civilization, and, of course, the good life, which is one of the reasons it remains, with 75 million visitors a year, the most visited country in the world.   This new, updated edition of Culture Smart! France looks at the attitudes and values of the French today. It explains how French life and business work and shows you how to fit in as a foreigner. There is practical advice on how to avoid the pitfalls and do things the French way. It takes you through history, festivals, and traditions, the French at home, on the road, in the restaurant, and at work. Above all, it shows you how the French communicate, and how best to get along with this sometimes frustrating yet charming and brilliant people.
Call Number: Darden Library Reserve 4 hr checkout
ISBN: 9781857336733
Publication Date: 2013-05-01

Travel Guides - France

Library can extend checkout period for travel guides for your trip.

DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: France by Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: France will lead you straight to the best attractions the country has to offer. Discover France region-by-region, from Champagne in the north to the sun-blessed corner of Provence and the Côte d'Azur. Stand in awe of the châteaux of the Loire, lie on the beautiful beaches of Corsica, and climb to the top of the Eiffel Tower. Discover DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: France.    * Detailed itineraries and "don't-miss" destination highlights at a glance.    * Illustrated cutaway 3-D drawings of important sights.    * Floor plans and guided visitor information for major museums.    * Guided walking tours, local drink and dining specialties to try, things to do, and places to eat, drink, and shop by area.    * Area maps marked with sights.    * Detailed city map of Paris includes a street finder index for easy navigation.    * Insights into history and culture to help you understand the stories behind the sights.    * Hotel and restaurant listings highlight DK Choice special recommendations. With hundreds of full-color photographs, hand-drawn illustrations, and custom maps that illuminate every page, DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: France truly shows you this country as no one else can. Recommended: For a pocket guidebook to Paris, check out DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Top 10 Paris, which is packed with dozens of top 10 lists, ensuring you make the most of your time in the city. Series Overview: For more than two decades, DK Eyewitness Travel Guides have helped travelers experience the world through the history, art, architecture, and culture of their destinations. Expert travel writers and researchers provide independent editorial advice, recommendations, and reviews. With guidebooks to hundreds of places around the globe available in print and digital formats, DK Eyewitness Travel Guides show travelers how they can discover more. DK Eyewitness Travel Guides: the most maps, photographs, and illustrations of any guide.
Call Number: Darden Library Reserve 4 hr checkout
ISBN: 9781465440174
Publication Date: 2016-04-05
France by Nicola Williams Lonely Planet: The world's leading travel guide publisher Lonely Planet Franceis your passport to the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Climb the iconic Eiffel Tower, explore the mysterious abbey-island of Mont St-Michel, or taste Champagne amid the rolling vineyards of Reims; all with your trusted travel companion. Get to the heart of France and begin your journey now! Inside Lonely Planet's France Travel Guide: Colourmaps and images throughout Highlightsand itineraries help you tailor your trip to your personal needs and interests Insider tips to save time and money and get around like a local, avoiding crowds and trouble spots Essential infoat your fingertips - hours of operation, phone numbers, websites, transit tips, prices Honest reviews for all budgets - eating, sleeping, sight-seeing, going out, shopping, hidden gems that most guidebooks miss Cultural insights give you a richer, more rewarding travel experience - history, art, literature, cinema, music, architecture, politics, landscapes, wildlife, cuisine Free, convenient pull-outParis city map (included in print version), plus over 137 colour maps Covers Paris, Lille, Flanders, the Somme, Normandy, Brittany, Champagne, Alsace, Lorraine, the Loire Valley, Burgundy, Lyon, the French Alps, Basque Country, the Pyrenees, Languedoc-Roussillon, Provence, Corsica and more The Perfect Choice:Lonely Planet France, our most comprehensive guide to France, is perfect for both exploring top sights and taking roads less travelled. Looking for a guide focused on Paris? Check outLonely Planet's Paris guide for a comprehensive look at all the country has to offer;Discover Paris, a photo-rich guide to the country's most popular attractions; orPocket Paris, a handy-sized guide/handy-sized guides focused on the can't-miss sights for a quick trip. Authors: Written and researched by Lonely Planet, Nicola Williams, Alexis Averbuck, Oliver Berry, Stuart Butler, Jean-Bernard Carillet, Kerry Christiani, Gregor Clark, Emilie Filou, Catherine Le Nevez, Daniel Robinson. About Lonely Planet:Since 1973, Lonely Planet has become the world's leading travel media company with guidebooks to every destination, an award-winning website, mobile and digital travel products, and a dedicated traveller community. Lonely Planet covers must-see spots but also enables curious travellers to get off beaten paths to understand more of the culture of the places in which they find themselves.
Call Number: Darden Library Reserve 4 hr checkout
ISBN: 9781743214701
Publication Date: 2015-04-01
Western Europe by Alexis Averbuck Lonely Planet: The world's leading travel guide publisher Lonely PlanetWestern Europeis your passport to the most relevant, up-to-date advice on what to see and skip, and what hidden discoveries await you. Sip fine wine in a Parisian cafe, explore the ruins of Rome or party through the night in the bars of Berlin; all with your trusted travel companion. Get to the heart of Western Europe and begin your journey now! Inside Lonely Planet'sWestern Europe Travel Guide: Colourmaps and images throughout Highlightsand itineraries help you tailor your trip to your personal needs and interests Insider tips to save time and money and get around like a local, avoiding crowds and trouble spots Essential infoat your fingertips - hours of operation, phone numbers, websites, transit tips, prices Honest reviews for all budgets - eating, sleeping, sight-seeing, going out, shopping, hidden gems that most guidebooks miss Cultural insights give you a richer, more rewarding travel experience - including history, art, literature, cinema, music, architecture, landscapes, wildlife, cuisine, wine, and customs and etiquette Over 95 maps Covers Austria, Belgium & Luxembourg, Britain, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland & Liechtenstein, and more The Perfect Choice:Lonely PlanetWestern Europe, our most comprehensive guide to Western Europe, is perfect for both exploring top sights and taking roads less travelled. Looking for just the highlights of Europe? Check outLonely Planet's DiscoverEurope, a photo-rich guide to the region's most popular attractions. Looking for more extensive coverage? Check outLonely Planet'sEuropeguide. Authors: Written and researched by Lonely Planet. About Lonely Planet:Since 1973, Lonely Planet has become the world's leading travel media company with guidebooks to every destination, an award-winning website, mobile and digital travel products, and a dedicated traveller community. Lonely Planet covers must-see spots but also enables curious travellers to get off beaten paths to understand more of the culture of the places in which they find themselves.
Call Number: Darden Library Reserve 4 hr checkout
ISBN: 9781743215814
Publication Date: 2015-10-20
Rick Steves Snapshot Normandy by Rick Steves; Steve Smith
Call Number: 7 day loan - Turner Collection
ISBN: 9781631212079
Publication Date: 2016-01-26

Statistics & Data

OECD i-Library This link opens in a new window
Explore this site for statistical databases, reports, and 19 periodicals published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. The Economic Surveys, issued biennially for many countries, provide tables and discussion on overall economic health and social conditions.

Consult the OECD Economic Surveys: France 2015 for information about the economy.
Alternatively, go to OECD i-Library and click on Browse by Country. This will help you retrieve other publications on France.

IMF eLibrary Data (International Monetary Fund) This link opens in a new window
Turn to this database for economic time series data from more than 200 countries and areas. Includes four datasets: International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics. The International Financial Statistics dataset includes main global and country economic indicators, exchange rates, and fund accounts data. Annual series, when available, begin with 1948 data; quarterly and monthly series, when available, begin with 1957 data.

Contains economic time series data
Datasets include International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics
For a quick search, click on Data by Country/Economy. Select France and click on GO. Click on International Financial Statistics. Use the tab to view Exchange Rates, Reserves, Interest Rates, etc. Change Date by using the drop down menu. You can add and remove years and quarter by right clicking and making appropriate selections.

World DataBank (World Bank) This link opens in a new window
Explore this database if you need statistics related to social and economic development. Contains World Bank time series data for 227 countries and 18 country groups. Features 60 databases. The most frequently used are: World Development Indicators; Education Statistics; Gender Statistics; Health Nutrition and Population Statistics; Poverty and Equity Database. The Doing Business database provides measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 189 economies. Look for various links to the tutorial and/or the FAQs page.

Provides social and economic statistics for key indicators for each country as well as regions, including the European Union
Consists of several individual databases with some overlap in indicators; databases include:
- World Development Indicators
- Education Statistics
- Gender Statistics
- Poverty and Equity Database

UN Data (United Nations) This link opens in a new window

Includes economic and socio-demographic data
Use the Advanced Search function to search for data across a range of UN databases

Eurostat This link opens in a new window

Provides statistical data and research on the European Union.
Publishes the Eurostat Yearbook, the Eurostat Regional Yearbook, and the Statistical Atlas.
Set up a free user account for more flexibility in selecting data.

Business and the Economy

Country Commercial Guides This link opens in a new window

Information on the business landscape, trade regulations, investment climate, and political & economic environment of 125 countries
Designed for US companies seeking opportunities outside the United States.
Explore the guide on France.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Search this database for articles in 1,200 business journals, magazines, and trade journals. Also provides industry reports, country profiles, and company SWOT analyses. Business Source Complete is often the best place to start your research.
Provides full text or pdf articles from the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Perspectives, Administrative Science Quarterly, California Management Review, and the Journal of Business Ethics.

Consult the latest France Country Profile from Marketline, particularly the portions on the economic landscape
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off-Grounds

News

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text or pdf articles from the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Perspectives, Administrative Science Quarterly, California Management Review, and the Journal of Business Ethics.

Contains articles from scholarly and trade journals, newspapers, and magazines as well as industry and company reports
To find news about France:
- Enter France in the search box and select GE Geographic Terms under Select a Field
- Select Newspaper and/or Periodical under Publication type
- Sort results by most recent.
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Limit the results of your search while setting up your search and/or while you view results. You can specify date, industry, geographic region, and type of publication. You can also limit results to one or more specific publications.

Broad variety of news sources
On the search page, expand the Region field and search for France
Add additional search criteria as desired and click Search
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds