LibGuides: Country Information: Finland: Home

Country Overview

World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Turn to the World Factbook for information on 267 countries. Provides background and data related to history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and international relations for each country.

Use the dropdown menu to select Finland.
Offers basic information on history, government, military, economy, communications, transportation, demographics, and social conditions.
Published by the US Central Intelligence Agency.

International Strategic Analysis This link opens in a new window
Provides reports on geopolitics and international economics. Includes country reports, region reports, economic forecasts, risk forecasts, weekly global update, and annual ISA Global Economic and Risk Outlook.

Powerpoint presentation with sections on current events, political outlook, economic outlook, and demographic information.
Scroll down to West Europe and download the Finland Country Report.
Must be connected to Darden VPN when off Grounds.

Culture

GoinGlobal This link opens in a new window
Go here for current job and internship listings and country career guides.

For cultural advice, select Career Guides and Country Career Guides. Click on Finland. Select Living There and select section on Cultural Advice.
This database also provides information on jobs and internships. To view these, select Internships or Jobs from the menu bar. Limit your search by country and enter keyword MBA..

Darden Abroad

Global Voices of Darden: The International Perspective at Darden is a blog by the Darden Center for Global Initiatives.

Statistics & Data

EMIS (Connect to Darden VPN) This link opens in a new window
Search this database for information about emerging market countries, companies, industries, and economic conditions. Click on Client Login icon to get to database.
Eurostat This link opens in a new window
Provides statistical data and research on the European Union. Publications include the Eurostat Yearbook, the Eurostat Regional Yearbook, and the Statistical Atlas.
Set up a free user account for more flexibility in selecting data.
OECD i-Library This link opens in a new window
Explore this site for statistical databases, reports, and 19 periodicals published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. The Economic Surveys, issued biennially for many countries, provide tables and discussion on overall economic health and social conditions.

Go to OECD i-Library and click on Browse by Country. This will help you retrieve other publications on Finland

IMF eLibrary Data (International Monetary Fund) This link opens in a new window
Turn to this database for economic time series data from more than 200 countries and areas. Includes four datasets: International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics. The International Financial Statistics dataset includes main global and country economic indicators, exchange rates, and fund accounts data. Annual series, when available, begin with 1948 data; quarterly and monthly series, when available, begin with 1957 data.

Contains economic time series data
Datasets include International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics
For a quick search, click on Data by Country/Economy. Select Belgium and click on GO. Click on International Financial Statistics. Use the tab to view Exchange Rates, Reserves, Interest Rates, etc. Change Date by using the drop down menu. You can add and remove years and quarter by right clicking and making appropriate selections.

World DataBank (World Bank) This link opens in a new window
Explore this database if you need statistics related to social and economic development. Contains World Bank time series data for 227 countries and 18 country groups. Features 60 databases. The most frequently used are: World Development Indicators; Education Statistics; Gender Statistics; Health Nutrition and Population Statistics; Poverty and Equity Database. The Doing Business database provides measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 189 economies. Look for various links to the tutorial and/or the FAQs page.

Provides social and economic statistics for key indicators for each country as well as regions, including the European Union
Consists of several individual databases with some overlap in indicators; databases include:
- World Development Indicators
- Education Statistics
- Gender Statistics
- Poverty and Equity Database

UN Data (United Nations) This link opens in a new window
Students and researchers needing economic and socio-demographic data should consider looking at this database. It provides more than 450 statistical time series for countries from around the world.

Includes economic and socio-demographic data
Use the Advanced Search function to search for data across a range of UN databases

Statistics Finland
Statistics Finland's task is to
Compile statistics and reports concerning social conditions:

Collect and maintain data files on society
Provide information service and promote the use of statistics
Develop statistical methods and conduct studies supporting the development of statistics
Develop the national statistical service in cooperation with other Government officials:

Coordinate the national statistical service
Participate in and coordinate Finland's international statistical co-operation

Business and the Economy

Country Commercial Guides This link opens in a new window
Learn more about market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs for over 125 countries. These reports are prepared by trade and industry experts at US embassies worldwide.

Information on the business landscape, trade regulations, investment climate, and political & economic environment of 125 countries
Designed for US companies seeking opportunities outside the United States.
Explore the guide on Finland.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Search this database for articles in 1,200 business journals, magazines, and trade journals. Also provides industry reports, country profiles, and company SWOT analyses. Business Source Complete is often the best place to start your research.
Provides full text or pdf articles from the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Perspectives, Administrative Science Quarterly, California Management Review, and the Journal of Business Ethics.

Consult the latest Finland Country Profile from IHS Markit, particularly the portions on the economic landscape
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off-Grounds

Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
Search this site for analyses and data on global consumer markets. Provides market size by country and/or region and marketshare for companies and brands. Also features information and data on consumer demographic groups, as well as country economic data.

News

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Search this database for articles in 1,200 business journals, magazines, and trade journals. Also provides industry reports, country profiles, and company SWOT analyses. Business Source Complete is often the best place to start your research.
Provides full text or pdf articles from the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Perspectives, Administrative Science Quarterly, California Management Review, and the Journal of Business Ethics.

Contains articles from scholarly and trade journals, newspapers, and magazines as well as industry and company reports
To find news about Finland:
- Enter Finland in the search box and select

GE Geographic Terms under Select a Field

Select Newspaper or Periodical under Publication type
Sort results by most recent.
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Search this database for news articles from US and international newspapers, business/trade journals, and newswire services. Use the "News Pages" tab to view current articles from the Wall Street Journal, NY Times, and other major news publications. Click on the "Companies/Markets" tab to find company profiles, data from 10-Ks, and quotes for stocks, funds, currencies, and indices.
Limit the results of your search while setting up your search and/or while you view results. You can specify date, industry, geographic region, and type of publication. You can also limit results to one or more specific publications.

Broad variety of news sources
On the search page, expand the Region field and search for Finland
Add additional search criteria as desired and click Search
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds

Banking and Finance

Suomen Pankki: Finlands Bank Euerosystemet

Provides economic and financial data for Finalnd and the EU. Check out the Statistics and Research section.

European Central Bank

Located in Frankfurt Germany, the European Central Bank determines monetary policy for the Eurozone.
This site features research publications, statistical data, and other valuable information.

Euronext

Pan-European marketplace.