Country Information: Italy

From US CIA World Factbook, downloaded 9/13/2018

• This site offers basic information on history, government, military, economy, communications, transportation, demographics, and social conditions for countries around the globe.
• Use the dropdown menu to select Italy.
• Published by the US Central Intelligence Agency.

• ISA contains insightful Powerpoint reports with sections on current events, political outlook, economic outlook, and demographic information.
• Scroll down to West Europe and download the Italy Country Report.
• Must be connected to Darden VPN when off Grounds.

• For cultural insight, select Career Guide and Country Career Guide.  Click on Italy. Select Living There and click on the section on Cultural Advice.
• Consider viewing the guide for Rome (click on Global City Career Guides.)
• This database also provides information on jobs and internships.  To view these, select Internships or Jobs from the menu bar.  Limit your search by country and enter keyword MBA..

Library can extend checkout period for travel guides for your trip.

• Statistical bureau for Italy.
• Includes statistics on labor and income, the economy, and society, including basic demographics.
• English version does not include all data.

• Consult the OECD Economic Surveys: Italy for information about the economy.
• Alternatively, go to OECD i-Library and click on Browse by Country.  This will help you retrieve other publications on Italy.

• Contains economic time series data
• Datasets include International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics
• For a quick search, click on Data by Country/Economy.  Select Italy and click on GO.  Click on International Financial Statistics.  Use the tab to view Exchange Rates, Reserves, Interest Rates, etc. Change Date by using the drop down menu.  You can add and remove years and quarter by right clicking and making appropriate selections.

• Provides social and economic statistics for key indicators for each country as well as regions, including the European Union
• Consists of several individual databases with some overlap in indicators; databases include:
  • World Development Indicators
  • Education Statistics
  • Gender Statistics
  • Poverty and Equity Database

• Includes economic and socio-demographic data
• Use the Advanced Search function to search for data across a range of UN databases

• Provides statistical data and research on the European Union.
• Publishes the Eurostat Yearbook, the Eurostat Regional Yearbook, and the Statistical Atlas.
• Set up a free user account for more flexibility in selecting data.

• Contains articles from scholarly and trade journals, newspapers, and magazines as well as industry and company reports
• To find news about Italy:
  • Enter Italy in the search box and select GE Geographic Terms under Select a Field
  • Select Newspaper and/or Periodical under Publication type
  • Sort results by most recent.
• Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds

• Broad variety of news sources
• On the search page, expand the Region field and search for Italy.
• Add additional search criteria as desired and click Search
• Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds

• Information on the business landscape, trade regulations, investment climate, and political & economic environment of 125 countries
• Designed for US companies seeking opportunities outside the United States.
• Explore the guide on Italy.

• Faculty and students use Business Source Complete often to identify articles on a particular business topic.  The database also contains country reports.
• Consult the latest Italy Country Profile from Marketline, particularly the portions on the economic landscape.
• View the Italy Country Monitor from IHS Markit.
• Look at the   Italy Country Review from CountryWatch.
• Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off-Grounds

Banca d'Italia

• The Banca d'Italia is the central bank of Italy.
• There is an English language version of their site.
• Provides economic and financial data for Italy.

Borsa Italian

• Italy's only stock exchange.
• Located in Milan, this exchange is now a subsidiary of the London Stock Exchange Group.

Euronext

• Pan-European marketplace.

European Central Bank

• Located in Frankfurt Germany, the European Central Bank determines monetary policy for the Eurozone.
• This site features research publications, statistical data, and other valuable information.

Library can extend checkout period for travel guides for your trip.