Turn to the World Factbook for information on 267 countries. Provides background and data related to history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and international relations for each country.
Explore this site for statistical databases, reports, and 19 periodicals published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. The Economic Surveys, issued biennially for many countries, provide tables and discussion on overall economic health and social conditions.
Browse by country or theme
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds
Search this database for articles in 1,200 business journals, magazines, and trade journals. Also provides industry reports, country profiles, and company SWOT analyses. Business Source Complete is often the best place to start your research.
Provides full text or pdf articles from the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Perspectives, Administrative Science Quarterly, California Management Review, and the Journal of Business Ethics.
Consult items such as the Country/Territory Report - Malawi
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off-Grounds
Search this database for information about emerging market countries, companies, industries, and economic conditions. Click on Client Login icon to get to database.
Developed by the African Development Bank Group, this document covers economic development in different areas of Africa. Scroll down to the Southern Africa section for a report on Malawi.
Search this database for articles in 1,200 business journals, magazines, and trade journals. Also provides industry reports, country profiles, and company SWOT analyses. Business Source Complete is often the best place to start your research.
Provides full text or pdf articles from the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Perspectives, Administrative Science Quarterly, California Management Review, and the Journal of Business Ethics.
Contains articles from scholarly and trade journals, newspapers, and magazines as well as industry and company reports
To find news about Malawi:
Enter Malawiin the search box and select GE Geographic Terms under Select a Field
Select Newspaper and/or Periodical under Publication type
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds
Search this database for news articles from US and international newspapers, business/trade journals, and newswire services. Use the "News Pages" tab to view current articles from the Wall Street Journal, NY Times, and other major news publications. Click on the "Companies/Markets" tab to find company profiles, data from 10-Ks, and quotes for stocks, funds, currencies, and indices.
Limit the results of your search while setting up your search and/or while you view results. You can specify date, industry, geographic region, and type of publication. You can also limit results to one or more specific publications.
Broad variety of news sources
On the search page, expand the Region field and search for Malawi.
Add additional search criteria as desired and click Search
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds
Students and researchers needing economic and socio-demographic data should consider looking at this database. It provides more than 450 statistical time series for countries from around the world.
Explore this database if you need statistics related to social and economic development. Contains World Bank time series data for 227 countries and 18 country groups. Features 60 databases. The most frequently used are: World Development Indicators; Education Statistics; Gender Statistics; Health Nutrition and Population Statistics; Poverty and Equity Database. The Doing Business database provides measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 189 economies. Look for various links to the tutorial and/or the FAQs page.
Provides social and economic statistics for key indicators for each country as well as regions in some cases
Consists of several individual databases with overlap in indicators; databases include:
World Development Indicators
Education Statistics
Gender Statistics
Poverty and Equity Database
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds
Darden Camp Library, First Floor, 100 Darden Blvd., Darden Business School, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Mailing Address: Darden Camp Library, PO Box 6550, Charlottesville, VA 22906-6550 Google Map with Darden Library
Email: library@darden.virginia.edu Phone: (434) 924-7321 FAX: (434) 924-3533
