Skip to Main Content

Library Home | About | Databases | Library for Students | Library for Faculty | Research Guides

Country Information: Bahrain

Country Overview

"Bahrain on the globe (Afro-Eurasia centered)" by TUBS is licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0

World Factbook This link opens in a new window

Use the dropdown menu to select Bahrain
Offers basic information on the country's government, economy, and society
Published by the CIA

Statistics & Data

Bahrain Open Data Portal

Statistical bureau of Bahrain
Includes statistics on labor and income, the economy, and society, including basic demographics

IMF eLibrary Data (International Monetary Fund) This link opens in a new window

Contains economic time series data
Datasets include International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds

World DataBank (World Bank) This link opens in a new window

Provides social and economic statistics for key indicators for each country as well as regions in some cases
Consists of several individual databases with overlap in indicators; databases include:
- World Development Indicators
- Education Statistics
- Gender Statistics
- Poverty and Equity Database
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds

UN Data (United Nations) This link opens in a new window

Includes economic and socio-demographic data
Use the Advanced Search function to search for data across a range of UN databases

Business and the Economy

International Strategic Analysis This link opens in a new window

PowerPoint presentations detailing the political, economic, and demographic outlook and current events for each country listed
Scroll down to Middle East and North Africa and download the Bahrain Country Report
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds

Country Commercial Guides This link opens in a new window

Information on the business landscape, trade regulations, investment climate, and political & economic environment of 125 countries
Explore the guide on Bahrain

EMIS (Connect to Darden VPN) This link opens in a new window

View the Bahrain Country Analysis page

News

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text or pdf articles from the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Perspectives, Administrative Science Quarterly, California Management Review, and the Journal of Business Ethics.

Contains articles from scholarly and trade journals, newspapers, and magazines as well as industry and company reports
To find news about Bahrain:
- Enter Bahrain in the search box and select GE Geographic Terms under Select a Field
- Select Newspaper and/or Periodical under Publication type
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Limit the results of your search while setting up your search and/or while you view results. You can specify date, industry, geographic region, and type of publication. You can also limit results to one or more specific publications.

Broad variety of news sources
On the search page, expand the Region field and search for Bahrain
Add additional search criteria as desired and click Search
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds

Darden Camp Library, First Floor, 100 Darden Blvd., Darden Business School, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Mailing Address: Darden Camp Library, PO Box 6550, Charlottesville, VA 22906-6550 Google Map with Darden Library
Email: library@darden.virginia.edu Phone: (434) 924-7321 FAX: (434) 924-3533

Darden Portal | Darden Homepage | UVA Homepage