LibGuides: Country Information: Argentina: Home

News

Access World News
Search here for news from a broad list of sources, including the Richmond Times Dispatch and Daily Progress. Does not contain the business specific features of such news databases as Factiva and Lexis Nexis Academic.
Click on Help icon to view step by step instructions and video tutorials.
Factiva
Aggregated news from national and local newspapers, magazines, trade publications, and transcripts. Factiva includes access to the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and Barron's. Content is available in 22 languages. Factiva also houses succinct company profiles, Factiva's indexing tools and more.
Economist.com
The Economist offers a full range of analysis, including special reports, data journalism, podcasts, films and audio versions. You must first self-register using your @darden.virginia.edu email address here

Country Overview

World Factbook
Turn to the World Factbook for information on 267 countries. Provides background and data related to history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and international relations for each country.

Culture

GoinGlobal
Go here for current job and internship listings and country career guides.

For Cultural Advice, select Career Guides
Select Country Career Guides.
Select Argentina.
Click on Living There and select section on Cultural Advice.
You may also consider viewing the Buenos-Aires Career Guide under the category Global City Career Guides.
This database also provides information on jobs and internships. To view these, select Internships or Jobs from the menu bar. Limit your search by country and enter keyword MBA..

Staging Frontiers: The Making of Modern Popular Culture in Argentina and Uruguay by William G. Acree, Jr.
ISBN: 0826361064
Publication Date: 2019

Business and the Economy

EMIS (Connect to Darden VPN)
Search this database for information about emerging market countries, companies, industries, and economic conditions. Click on Client Login icon to get to database.
Business Source Complete
Search this database for articles in 1,200 business journals, magazines, and trade journals. Also provides industry reports, country profiles, and company SWOT analyses. Business Source Complete is often the best place to start your research.
Provides full text or pdf articles from the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Perspectives, Administrative Science Quarterly, California Management Review, and the Journal of Business Ethics.
International Strategic Analysis
Provides reports on geopolitics and international economics. Includes country reports, region reports, economic forecasts, risk forecasts, weekly global update, and annual ISA Global Economic and Risk Outlook.

Central Bank of the Republic of Argentina

On the English version homepage, scroll down to select Publications or Statistics and Indicators.
The English Version of the site probably provides less information than the Spanish version at Banco Central de la República Argentina

Statistics & Data

CEPALSTAT Databases and Statistical Publications

Provides data from the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean.
Using the Statistics and Indicators search allows you to search for specific indicators for one or more countries.
The Country Profiles feature provides preformatted data on selected indicators.

Gallup Analytics
Gallup Analytics is an online platform that provides subscribers with access to nearly a century of U.S. data and a decade of global tracking data known as the Gallup World Poll.
UN Data (United Nations)
Students and researchers needing economic and socio-demographic data should consider looking at this database. It provides more than 450 statistical time series for countries from around the world.
World DataBank (World Bank)
Explore this database if you need statistics related to social and economic development. Contains World Bank time series data for 227 countries and 18 country groups. Features 60 databases. The most frequently used are: World Development Indicators; Education Statistics; Gender Statistics; Health Nutrition and Population Statistics; Poverty and Equity Database. The Doing Business database provides measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 189 economies. Look for various links to the tutorial and/or the FAQs page.
IMF eLibrary Data (International Monetary Fund)
Turn to this database for economic time series data from more than 200 countries and areas. Includes four datasets: International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics. The International Financial Statistics dataset includes main global and country economic indicators, exchange rates, and fund accounts data. Annual series, when available, begin with 1948 data; quarterly and monthly series, when available, begin with 1957 data.