LibGuides: Country Information: Iceland: Home

News

Access World News
Search here for news from a broad list of sources, including the Richmond Times Dispatch and Daily Progress. Does not contain the business specific features of such news databases as Factiva and Lexis Nexis Academic.

Click on Help icon to view step by step instructions and video tutorials.
Economist.com
The Economist offers a full range of analysis, including special reports, data journalism, podcasts, films and audio versions.
Factiva
Aggregated news from national and local newspapers, magazines, trade publications, and transcripts. Factiva includes access to the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and Barron's. Content is available in 22 languages. Factiva also houses succinct company profiles, Factiva's indexing tools and more.

Country Overview

World Factbook
Turn to the World Factbook for information on 267 countries. Provides background and data related to history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and international relations for each country.

Culture

Created by the International Business Center and the Eli Broad College of Business at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities. Partially funded by a U.S. Department of Education Title VI B grant (CIBE program), globalEDGE™ is your source for global business knowledge. To learn more about the history and content of globalEDGE, please visit our history page. the countries in each classification.

Business and the Economy

Country Commercial Guides
Learn more about market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs for over 125 countries. These reports are prepared by trade and industry experts at US embassies worldwide.
Business Source Complete
Search this database for articles in 1,200 business journals, magazines, and trade journals. Also provides industry reports, country profiles, and company SWOT analyses. Business Source Complete is often the best place to start your research.

Provides full text or pdf articles from the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Perspectives, Administrative Science Quarterly, California Management Review, and the Journal of Business Ethics.

Banking and Finance

Central Bank of Iceland

Provides economic and financial data for Iceland. Check out the Statistics and Publication sections.

European Central Bank

Located in Frankfurt Germany, the European Central Bank determines monetary policy for the Eurozone.
This site features research publications, statistical data, and other valuable information.

Euronext

Pan-European marketplace.

PESTLE Reports

Business Source Complete
Search for Marketline Country Reports this will include a PESTLE analysis section, you can also search by Marketline Country reports and then country name.

Provides full text or pdf articles from the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Perspectives, Administrative Science Quarterly, California Management Review, and the Journal of Business Ethics.
EMIS (Connect to Darden VPN)
Search for PESTLE and country name in the main search box within EMIS, these are also Marketline country reports. Please note that EMIS does not carry a comprehensive list of MarketLine Country Reports you may need to consult Business Source Complete.

Statistics & Data

EMIS (Connect to Darden VPN)
Search this database for information about emerging market countries, companies, industries, and economic conditions.
Eurostat
Provides statistical data and research on the European Union. Publications include the Eurostat Yearbook, the Eurostat Regional Yearbook, and the Statistical Atlas.
Set up a free user account for more flexibility in selecting data.
OECD i-Library
Explore this site for statistical databases, reports, and 19 periodicals published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. The Economic Surveys, issued biennially for many countries, provide tables and discussion on overall economic health and social conditions.
IMF eLibrary Data (International Monetary Fund)
Turn to this database for economic time series data from more than 200 countries and areas. Includes four datasets: International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics. The International Financial Statistics dataset includes main global and country economic indicators, exchange rates, and fund accounts data. Annual series, when available, begin with 1948 data; quarterly and monthly series, when available, begin with 1957 data.
World DataBank (World Bank)
Explore this database if you need statistics related to social and economic development. Contains World Bank time series data for 227 countries and 18 country groups. Features 60 databases. The most frequently used are: World Development Indicators; Education Statistics; Gender Statistics; Health Nutrition and Population Statistics; Poverty and Equity Database. The Doing Business database provides measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 189 economies. Look for various links to the tutorial and/or the FAQs page.
UN Data (United Nations)
Students and researchers needing economic and socio-demographic data should consider looking at this database. It provides more than 450 statistical time series for countries from around the world.

Statistics Iceland
Statistics Iceland is the National Statistical Institute of Iceland and was founded in 1914. Statistics Iceland is the centre for official statistics in Iceland and has the leading role in the organisation, coordination and conduct thereof. Ólafur Hjálmarsson is the Director-General.

They have five divisions, Economics, Social, Business, Resources and Research and forecast

Gallup Analytics
Gallup Analytics is an online platform that provides subscribers with access to nearly a century of U.S. data and a decade of global tracking data known as the Gallup World Poll.

Darden Abroad

Global Voices of Darden: The International Perspective at Darden is a blog by the Darden Center for Global Initiatives.