LibGuides: Country Information: Nigeria: Country Overview: Home

News

Factiva
Aggregated news from national and local newspapers, magazines, trade publications, and transcripts. Factiva includes access to the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and Barron's. Content is available in 22 languages. Factiva also houses succinct company profiles, Factiva's indexing tools and more.

Broad variety of news sources
On the search page, expand the Region field and search for Africa. Expand West Africa and select Nigeria.
Add additional search criteria as desired and click Search
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds

World Factbook
Turn to the World Factbook for information on 267 countries. Provides background and data related to history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and international relations for each country.

Nigeria Cultural Life
From Britannica.com information on social customs, the arts, social institutions and more can be found here!
Nigerian Ministry of Foreign Affairs
The Nigerian Ministry of Foreign Affairs offers, among other points of interest, a section devoted to the Nigerian Culture. Under Nigeria select Culture in the drop-down menu.

OECD i-Library
Explore this site for statistical databases, reports, and 19 periodicals published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. The Economic Surveys, issued biennially for many countries, provide tables and discussion on overall economic health and social conditions.

Under Browse By Country select Nigeria to find items such as revenue statistics and books like the Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes: Nigeria 2023
Must be connected to the Darden VPN when off Grounds

Business Source Complete
Search this database for articles in 1,200 business journals, magazines, and trade journals. Also provides industry reports, country profiles, and company SWOT analyses. Business Source Complete is often the best place to start your research.
Provides full text or pdf articles from the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Perspectives, Administrative Science Quarterly, California Management Review, and the Journal of Business Ethics.

On the search page, look for the Markets tab.
Go to the Search for an industry or country profile search box and search for Nigeria.
Select Nigeria and view the Nigeria country/region profile.

OECD i-Library
Explore this site for statistical databases, reports, and 19 periodicals published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. The Economic Surveys, issued biennially for many countries, provide tables and discussion on overall economic health and social conditions.

Go to OECD i-Library and click on Browse by Country. This will help you retrieve other publications on Nigeria

IMF eLibrary Data (International Monetary Fund)
Turn to this database for economic time series data from more than 200 countries and areas. Includes four datasets: International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics. The International Financial Statistics dataset includes main global and country economic indicators, exchange rates, and fund accounts data. Annual series, when available, begin with 1948 data; quarterly and monthly series, when available, begin with 1957 data.

Contains economic time series data
Datasets include International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics
For a quick search, click on Data by Country/Economy. Select Nigeria and click on GO. Click on International Financial Statistics. Use the tab to view Exchange Rates, Reserves, Interest Rates, etc. Change Date by using the drop down menu. You can add and remove years and quarter by right clicking and making appropriate selections.

World DataBank (World Bank)
Explore this database if you need statistics related to social and economic development. Contains World Bank time series data for 227 countries and 18 country groups. Features 60 databases. The most frequently used are: World Development Indicators; Education Statistics; Gender Statistics; Health Nutrition and Population Statistics; Poverty and Equity Database. The Doing Business database provides measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 189 economies. Look for various links to the tutorial and/or the FAQs page.

Provides social and economic statistics for key indicators for each country as well as regions, including Africa
Consists of several individual databases with some overlap in indicators; databases include:
- World Development Indicators
- Education Statistics
- Gender Statistics
- Poverty and Equity Database

Includes economic and socio-demographic data
Use the Advanced Search function to search for data across a range of UN databases

Gallup Analytics
Gallup Analytics is an online platform that provides subscribers with access to nearly a century of U.S. data and a decade of global tracking data known as the Gallup World Poll.