LibGuides: Research Guides: Industry & Market Research

Industry & Marketing Research Databases

CFRA Marketscope Advisor (Connect to Darden VPN)
Must Connect to Darden VPN. Go to CFRA for industry surveys and financial reports on stocks, ETFs, and Mutual Funds. CFRA prepared S&P Industry Surveys and other S&P reports for years. CFRA still uses S&P Global data, but publishes under their own name.
D&B Hoovers (Connect to Darden VPN)
Must Connect to Darden VPN. Please connect to the VPN prior to accessing D&B Hoovers. If an “invalid IP” error appears please turn on the VPN and reload the page to resolve the issue. Go to this updated version of the popular Hoovers database with background information on companies and industries. Provides in depth list of company subsidiaries and affiliates and company financial data. Select from a broad assortment of market research reports and download RMA Industry Norms pdfs providing industry financial ratios. Use D&B Hoovers to search and build a company list, limiting by location, industry, size, etc.

Known Error: If you get an error message try opening the link in an incognito window or clearing your cookies in your browser history.
IBISWorld
Go here for information about over 700 US industries. Provides information about industry performance, outlook, products and markets, competitive landscape, major companies, operating conditions, and key statistics. Select icon under page heading to download a complete report.
EMIS (Connect to Darden VPN)
Search this database for information about emerging market countries, companies, industries, and economic conditions.
MarketResearch.com Academic (Connect to Darden VPN)
Must connect to Darden VPN. Marketing reports on service industries, consumer goods, demographics, food & beverage, heavy industry, life sciences, public service, and technology & media.
Statista
Choose University of Virginia in the drop-down list under “If you have access” and login through NetBadge. Search here for statistics on 170 industries from over 50 countries. For a broader prospective, browse and view Statista dossiers, industry reports, market studies, outlook reports, surveys, and country reports.
GlobalData Disruptor (Connect to Darden VPN)
Must connect to Darden VPN. Search GlobalData Disruptor Technology Intelligence Centre for reports on disruptive technologies such as artificial intelligence, blockchain, digital payment technology, etc. Includes case studies and profiles on specific companies. In addition, select the companies tab on the top menu to view a searchable database of companies, technologies, funding, and investors. Select the databases tab on the top menu to search the "Deals Landscape" database; news; and an "Influencers" database providing links to recent tweets and online articles.
LSEG Workspace (AKA Refinitiv)
Use LSEG Workspace to access a wide variety of financial information for public companies including financials, analyst reports, corporate and government bond information, industry information, news and much more!
Forrester
Sign-up for an account to access this database. To sign-up use your Darden E-mail address and create a unique password. Forrester reports on developments in information technology, software, communications, and use of technology in marketing, supply chain management, operations, education, etc.

Email library@darden.virginia.edu if you need the registration code.
Gartner
Explore the Gartner database to learn more about trends and developments in information technology. Gartner's provides in depth research and market insight for the users and vendors of software, hardware, communications, and other technology used in business, education, and government. You will need to login using your the two-step login process with UVA Netbadge.
ABI/Inform Global
ABI/INFORM Global offers the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. It allows users to research business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape.

Other Industry Research Resources

Competitive Analysis

Business Source Complete
Search this database for articles in 1,200 business journals, magazines, and trade journals. Also provides industry reports, country profiles, and company SWOT analyses. Business Source Complete is often the best place to start your research.

Provides full text or pdf articles from the Harvard Business Review, McKinsey Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Perspectives, Administrative Science Quarterly, California Management Review, and the Journal of Business Ethics.
D&B Hoovers (Connect to Darden VPN)
Must Connect to Darden VPN. Please connect to the VPN prior to accessing D&B Hoovers. If an “invalid IP” error appears please turn on the VPN and reload the page to resolve the issue. Go to this updated version of the popular Hoovers database with background information on companies and industries. Provides in depth list of company subsidiaries and affiliates and company financial data. Select from a broad assortment of market research reports and download RMA Industry Norms pdfs providing industry financial ratios. Use D&B Hoovers to search and build a company list, limiting by location, industry, size, etc.

Known Error: If you get an error message try opening the link in an incognito window or clearing your cookies in your browser history.
EMIS (Connect to Darden VPN)
Search this database for information about emerging market countries, companies, industries, and economic conditions.

Industry Research Instructional Videos

Marketing Books

Cutting Edge Marketing Analytics by Rajkumar Venkatesan; Paul Farris; Ronald Wilcox
Call Number: HF 4515 .127 .V46

ISBN: 0133552527

Publication Date: 2014-06-30

Master practical strategic marketing analysis through real-life case studies and hands-on examples. In Cutting Edge Marketing Analytics, three pioneering experts integrate all three core areas of marketing analytics: statistical analysis, experiments, and managerial intuition. They fully detail a best-practice marketing analytics methodology, augmenting it with case studies that illustrate the quantitative and data analysis tools you'll need to allocate resources, define optimal marketing mixes; perform effective analysis of customers and digital marketing campaigns, and create high-value dashboards and metrics.
Strategic Brand Management and Development by Sotiris T. Lalaounis
ISBN: 9780429322556

Publication Date: 2020-12-30

Bringing together theories and concepts from brand management, consumer culture theory, marketing, communications, and design, this book provides an understanding of how organisations can successfully develop, market, and manage their brands. It draws extensively from scholarly research published in social sciences and humanities to provide a detailed discussion of the process of brand management and development. This book explores how organisations can design brand identities, develop brand marketing programmes, measure brand performance, and sustain brand equity, combining psychological, sociological, cultural, and management perspectives. It provides numerous examples that contextualise theory, enabling the reader to understand how past and present branding campaigns and strategies can be deconstructed, analysed, and evaluated, using these theoretical insights.With end-of-chapter case studies on Burberry, Juventus F.C., Pukka Herbs, YO!, and many other European and global brands, Strategic Brand Management and Development is an essential text for students in marketing, brand management, and consumer research, or for anyone interested in understanding the extraordinary power and scope of brands and branding in contemporary post-modern society.
Marketing Analytics by Rajkumar Venkatesan; Paul W. Farris; Ronald T. Wilcox
ISBN: 9780813945156

Publication Date: 2021-01-30

The authors of the pioneering Cutting-Edge Marketing Analytics return to the vital conversation of leveraging big data with Marketing Analytics: Essential Tools for Data-Driven Decisions, which updates and expands on the earlier book as we enter the 2020s. As they illustrate, big data analytics is the engine that drives marketing, providing a forward-looking, predictive perspective for marketing decision-making. The book presents actual cases and data, giving readers invaluable real-world instruction. The cases show how to identify relevant data, choose the best analytics technique, and investigate the link between marketing plans and customer behavior. These actual scenarios shed light on the most pressing marketing questions, such as setting the optimal price for one?s product or designing effective digital marketing campaigns. Big data is currently the most powerful resource to the marketing professional, and this book illustrates how to fully harness that power to effectively maximize marketing efforts.

Market Research in Pitchbook

Use the Market Analysis sub-menu found on the left side of the screen

Analyst Workspaces: Trending market reports, market maps, and more including analysis of current VC, PE, and M&A contexts.
Analyst-Curated Verticals: Trending niche markets that span multiple industries, examples include AI, clean energy, crypto, e-commerce, gaming....
Emerging Spaces: "New and disruptive markets, technologies, products, or services."
Market Size Estimates: The projected growth of a market gathered using a variety of sources and then presented in a visual format
Market Maps: Learn about a market space or make a visual presentation.

Use the "Research" sub-menu on the left sidebar:

Research Center: Go here to find Pitchbook analyst reports on private market topics we do have access to some of these reports within Pitchbook, please note that there are download limitations for some areas of Pitchbook.

Portions of this are taken from the Purdue Libraries' Pitchbook Resource Guide by Neal Baker.